The Opportunity Council’s board of directorsHeadline: 2021-2022 Board Officers Elected elected officers at their April 22 meeting in Bellingham.

The 2021-22 board officers are:

  • President: Mark Tompkins, San Juan County Health & Community Services
  • Vice President: Rebecca Boonstra, East Whatcom Community Council
  • Treasurer: Paul Stermer, Phillips 66 Ferndale Refinery
  • Secretary: Ozell Jackson, Homebridge Financial Services
  • Past President: Steve Jones, Nooksack Valley School District board member
  • At Large: Thomas Boucher, North Coast Credit Union

The Opportunity Council is a community action agency governed by a volunteer board of directors equally representing the private, public and low-income sectors of Island, San Juan and Whatcom counties.   The agency provides community programs that include housing, food resources, energy assistance, weatherization, early learning programs, child care resources and more.