Leadership Staff
Contact Leadership

Our Board of Directors

Like all Community Action Agencies, Opportunity Council is led by a tripartite volunteer board of diverse community leaders.  To ensure we never lose sight of our mission, one-third of board members are individuals with low incomes, one-third are public officials, and one-third are members of the private sector.

2021 Board of Directors

  • President: Mark Tompkins
  • Vice-President: Rebecca Boonstra
  • Secretary: Ozell Jackson
  • Treasurer: Paul Stermer
  • Past President: Steve Jones
  • ELAFS Policy Council Rep: Jeffrey Dietrich
  • Thomas Boucher
  • Rud Browne
  • Christianna Clinton
  • Sandy John
  • Mamie Lackie
  • Ramona Menish
  • Hannah Stone
  • Cindy Wolf

Upcoming Board Meetings


28oct4:00 pm- 6:00 pmBoard of Directors Meeting


No Events

The OC Team

Over 300 employees work at the Opportunity Council, serving communities and people throughout Whatcom, Island and San Juan Counties. Some programs extend into Skagit and Snohomish counties.

Interested in a career with Opportunity Council? Visit our Careers Page for current openings for how to apply.

Executive Leadership

Greg Winter

Executive Director

Sheri Burgler Emerson

Associate Director

Pamela R. Wheeler, PhD, MBA-PA, PHR, SHRM-CP

Chief People & Culture Officer

David Foreman

Chief Financial Officer

Agency Leadership

David Webster

Director of Early Learning & Family Services

Debbie Paton

Director of Community & Energy Services

Melissa Frasch-Brown

Director of Island County Service Center

Ross Quigley

Director of Home Improvement

Teri Bryant

Director of Whatcom Homeless Service Center

Shawn Collins

Director of The Energy Project

Wendy Lawrence

Director of Housing Development & Property Management

Deborah Cwalina

Director of Human Resources

Other Department Contacts

Katie Rose

Fund Development Manager

Roark Holz

Information Systems Manager

Contact Us